Tristana’s Ears | Cosplay Write-Up | League of Legends

I have a personal goal to cosplay all the yordles from League of Legends. I’ve made costumes for 3—Classic Teemo, Pool Party Lulu, and Final Boss Veigar. Tristana is such a bad-ass yordle that she was naturally next on my list.

These ears were specifically made for the Rocket Girl Tristana skin (reworked version), but can easily be altered to fit your cosplay needs.

TristanaSkin.PNG

Materials:

  • Paper to make templates (Use whatever you have on hand. I used construction paper, but manila folder or standard computer paper would work just fine)
  • Masking Tape
  • Craft Foam (2mm Thick, 6mm Thick)
  • Scissors
  • Hot Glue
  • Neodymium Magnets x 4
  • Wood Glue
  • Acrylic Paints (White, Blue, Red, Brown, Gold)
  • Paint Brushes of various sizes
  • Modge Podge (Matte Finish)

The Process:

1. Create your templates.

First, you want to create your templates. This is an important step to help you create ears that are in proportion to your own head and look accurate to what you are trying to cosplay as, which will ultimately save you craft foam since you will be working out all the mistakes with your paper versions. Whoot!

For my template, I essentially created 2 triangles that had rounded edges with one triangle being larger than the other. The larger triangle represents the outer ear, while the smaller triangle represents the inner ear.

4.JPG

Next, I used masking tape to roughly shape the template into my desired ear shape. I held this paper mock-up up to my own head to make sure I was achieving my desired ear shape and size. For me, I wanted my ears to be very large and exaggerated in proportion to my face.

6

To create a base piece for my ears to affix to, I traced out the shape of the base on a separate piece of paper and then cut that out.

 

Finally, I added some details to the outer ear template. I wanted to add some “fur wisps” so I drew the basic shape I wanted on a piece of scrap paper, cut the shapes out, and taped them onto the outer ear template.

12

These were the “fur wisps” that I added to the outer ear template.

 

In total, I have 3 templates—1 for the outer ear, 1 for the inner ear, 1 for the base of the ear.

2. Trace onto craft foam and cut.

Trace your 3 patterns onto some craft foam and cut out. Repeat this process for the other ear.

14.JPG

I personally used 2mm craft foam, but feel free to experiment with thicker craft foams. Please note that if you use thicker craft foam, you will likely need a heat gun to manipulate the foam into a curved shape.

3. Glue together.

Pre-heat your glue gun and glue these suckers together! First, I glued the inner ear piece to the outer ear. Then I glued the whole thing to the base foam piece. I burned my fingers a bit when doing this, so you might want to wear some protective gloves.

151619

Below is what the ear should look like after gluing all the pieces together. Repeat this process again for the second ear.

20

At least for her Rocket Girl skin, Tristana has an earring on her left ear. I cut out a rectangle out of some scrap 6mm craft foam and hot glued that onto my left ear piece.

4. Add the magnets to the ears.

Neodymium magnets have an incredibly strong attraction to one another, so I wanted to give these a try for my Tristana Ears. If you don’t want to use magnets, you could instead use wire.

At this stage, I hot glued the magnets to the bottom of each ear. I then covered the bottom of each ear with some additional craft foam using the base template I had constructed earlier.

26.JPG27.JPG

I then attached magnets to my headband so that the ears would attach. If you are not using a headband, you can glue your magnets to your wig.

28

Looking absolutely fly in my dinosaur kigurmi.

5. Prime.

Next, it’s time to prime. Paint 2-3 coats of wood glue to get your ears ready for painting.

31.JPG

6. Paint.

Using a basic palette of white, blue, red, brown, and gold I painted the ears. I mixed blue and white together to get varying shades of light blue for the outer portion of the ears. The same process was used with the red, white, and brown paint to make various shades of pink for the inner parts of the ears.

I used wispy paint strokes in the areas where the pink and blue met to create the illusion of fur. The gold paint was used for the earring. In total, this took about 2-3 coats of paint.

7. Seal.

17089118.jpg

Seal your work with Modge Podge! I personally didn’t want my ears to have a shiny finish, so I opted in for the Matte Version of Modge Podge. Paint 1-3 coats of Modge Podge onto your ears using a paint brush or sponge. Sealing your ears will protect the paint job.

COMPLETE!

With that, the ears are complete. I really love how they turned out. I absolutely love the “cartoonish” look!

36.JPG

I hope you found this walkthrough helpful for your next yordle or animal project.

❤ Shaina


Connect with me >>

Instagram: http://instagram.com/shainadilla

Facebook: https://facebook.com/shainadilla

Tumblr: http://shainadilla.tumblr.com

YouTube: shainadilla

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

